I’m going to get hate mail for this one…

I don’t know why, but people have rules about Christmas music. Most people wait until Thanksgiving to start getting into the Christmas spirit, but I start to yearn for Bing Crosby’s White Christmas in July.

To those of you who are passionate about Christmas being confined to December, allow me to appeal to your Scrooge heart.

Christmas has the most beautiful, peaceful music, heart-warming decorations, and the best food! What’s not to love? I love peppermint mochas, decorating the tree, and the anticipation of Christmas Eve. But more than that:

“It came without ribbons. It came without tags. It came without packages, boxes or bags. And he puzzled and puzzled ’till his puzzler was sore. Then the Grinch thought of something he hadn’t before. What if Christmas, he thought, doesn’t come from a store. What if Christmas, perhaps, means a little bit more.”
How the Grinch Stole Christmas – Dr. Suess

It is! It’s family, it’s friends, it’s a time to celebrate the year and begin a new one. It’s a time of wonder and miracles. It’s a spirit that brings with it life, joy, and hope. All across the world, people celebrate the birth of salvation. It’s a time of sharing the love that God blessed us with on that Christmas morning.

I think this is why in July, I have to watch Muppet Christmas Carol and remind myself of the spirit of Christmas.

I love the sentiment in Charles Dickens’ quote:

“I will honor Christmas in my heart and try to keep it all the year.” – A Christmas Carol

I hope that you will as well.

How do you keep Christmas all the year?

Leave a Reply

